Putin announced the annexation of the occupied territories of Ukraine

16:25 30 September Kyiv, Ukraine

On September 30, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced the annexation of the Zaporozhye, Kharkiv, Donetsk and Lugansk regions of Ukraine.

"The "DNR", "LNR", Zaporozhye and Kherson regions have a common fate with Russia," he said.
"People have made their choice. An unequivocal choice. Today we are signing an agreement on the accession of four new subjects of the Russian Federation. Because it is the will of millions of people," Putin said.
At the same time, he called on Ukraine to immediately stop hostilities and return to the negotiating table.
"But the choice of the people of Donetsk, Lugansk, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions is not subject to discussion," Putin said.
He promised to ensure the security of the occupied territories and restore their infrastructure.

According to him, "inhabitants of the occupied territories become citizens of the Russian Federation forever."