Australia imposes sanctions against 16 Russian officials and businessmen

09:22 01 July Kyiv, Ukraine

The Australian government announced the expansion of sanctions against Russia. The list has been supplemented by 16 individuals, including Putin's relatives.

Sanctions list published on the website of the Australian Foreign Ministry. The list included:
  • Minister of Agriculture Dmitry Patrushev,
  • Minister of Transport Vitaly Savelyev,
  • Minister of Construction and Housing and Public Utilities Irek Fayzullin,
  • Commissioner for Children's Rights Maria Lvova-Belova,
  • President of NPF "Gazfond" Yuri Shamalov,
  • member of the board of directors of Sogaz Mikhail Klishin,
  • Chairman of the Board of JSC "Rosgeologia" Sergey Gorkov,
  • co-founder of the Kyiv Ploshchad company God Nisanov,
  • ex-president of AFK "Sistema" Evgeny Novitsky,
  • Grigory Berezkin, owner of the ESN group of companies,
  • President of the group of companies "Mercury" Igor Kesaev,
  • businessmen Alexander Plekhov and Igor Putin,
  • Deputy Chairman of the Board of Sogaz Mikhail Putin,
  • Roman Putin, Chairman of the Board of Directors, MRT Group of Companies,
  • gymnast and head of the board of directors of the National Media Group Alina Kabaeva.
Australia was among the first to impose sanctions against Russia after the invasion of Russian troops into Ukraine on February 24. The authorities banned President Vladimir Putin, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov, Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu, Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin and others from entering the country. In total, 67 Russians were included in the sanctions list.

Australia also banned Russia from importing luxury goods from the country, and there is a ban on the export of alumina and aluminum ores to Russia. In response, Russia recognized the country as "unfriendly". The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the country closed the entry to the Russian Federation for the prime ministers of Australia and New Zealand, and also blacklisted 228 political figures from Australia and 130 political figures from New Zealand.