Sri Lanka elects new president

11:45 20 July Kyiv, Ukraine

Ranil Wickramasinghe became the President of Sri Lanka.

The results of the vote were announced by Parliament Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, according to the local newspaper Ada Derana on Wednesday, July 20.

According to him, Wickramasinghe received 134 votes of deputies. Opposition MP Dallas Alahapperuma - 82, and left-wing MP Anur Kumara Dissanayaka - 3.

Sri Lanka's parliament directly elects a multi-candidate president for the first time. Usually the head of state is elected in presidential elections held throughout the country for a five-year term, but since President Gotabaya Rajapaksa resigned before the end of his term, the parliament elected a new leader before the end of the current presidential term in accordance with the constitution.

It is known that in 1993, in connection with the assassination of President Ranasinghe Premadasa, the new President Dingiri Banda Wijetunge was also elected by Parliament for the remaining presidential term, but then his candidacy was the only one, he was elected unanimously.