Estonia will no longer allow Russian citizens with Schengen visas to enter the country

15:24 11 August Kyiv, Ukraine

From August 18, Estonia will no longer let Russian citizens into the country, to whom it had previously issued Schengen visas.

This was announced by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Estonia Urmas Reinsalu, writes ERR.
"In a week, a sanction will be applied to Schengen visas issued by the Republic of Estonia. Sanction means visas will remain valid. However, sanctions will be imposed on visa holders when entering Estonia, that is, they will be prohibited from entering Estonia," Reinsalu said.
Exceptions will be made for persons who are employees of diplomatic missions in Estonia and their family members; persons involved in international freight and passenger transportation; persons who have the right of free movement under EU law; persons whose entry into Estonia is necessary for humanitarian reasons, and for close relatives of Estonian citizens or citizens with a residence permit.

The minister noted that the decision only applies to visas issued by Estonia and does not apply to visas issued by other Schengen countries.

Recall that earlier the Latvian Seimas adopted a statement declaring Russia a sponsor of terrorism and called on the EU to immediately suspend the issuance of visas to Russians and Belarusians.